Skip to main content

Brief History

The Department of Building Technology came into being when the School of Architecture, Planning and Building was renamed Faculty of Architecture in 1961. It had since been a department in the Faculty, which later became the Faculty of Environmental and Development Studies in 1988. With the restructuring of the University into the collegiate system, the department became part of the Faculty of Architecture and Building Technology within the College of Architecture and Planning. In 2007, the BSc Building Technology programme was restructured to award two degrees namely, BSc Construction Technology and Management and BSc Quantity Surveying and Construction Economics. With further restructuring of the Collegiate system in 2010, the Faculty of Architecture and Building Technology was abolished and the Department became one of the four academic Departments under the two tier College of Architecture and Planning. Currently there is an adoption of the three tier system under the new College of Art and Built Environment which was formally Architecture and Planning. The department is now under the Faculty of Built Environment.

The department of Building Technology is a department under the new Faculty of Built Environment. The Programmes offered include the two undergraduate programmes and three graduate programmes, MSc. Construction Management, MSc Procurement Management, MPhil. Construction Management, MPhil Procurement Management, and PhD. Building Technology. Facilities available to ensure effective teaching of these programmes include a well-furnished Computer Laboratory, Materials Development and Testing Laboratory, Carpentry and Joinery Workshop, Lecture rooms equipped with LCDs and overhead projectors. The department is affiliated to some professional bodies including Ghana Institute of Surveyors and Ghana Institute of Construction. The turn-out rate for both BSc. programmes is about two hundred per year with that for MSc. Construction Management being thirty per year and that for MPhil being ten per year.